Update COVID-19 and cross-border employment: agreement with France extended


We refer to our newsflashes of 28 August 2020 and 31 augustus 2020 and in which we announced the extension of the international agreements regarding a mutual “force majeure tolerance” for cross-border workers in relation to COVID-19 (travel) restrictions concluded between Belgium and Luxembourg/the Netherlands/Germany until 31 December 2020. As anticipated, a similar extension is now announced for the agreement concluded between Belgium and France in this respect.

In our newsflash of 20 May 2020, we mentioned that the tolerance agreed between Belgium and France applies retroactively as from 11 March until 30 June 2020 but that it could be extended if the competent authorities of both countries timely decide to do so. This mutual agreement was indeed extended until 31 August 2020 (see our newsflash of 29 June 2020). The competent authorities of Luxembourg and Belgium have also agreed to extend the agreement until 31 December 2020.

Currently, all agreements concluded between Belgium and its neighbouring countries (France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) are now extended until 31 December 2020. It remains to be seen whether any further extensions (after 31 December 2020) will be made applicable.

We will follow-up on any further developments in this respect.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact Sandrine Schaumont or Philip Maertens.